Reflecting


Every mirror has not just one plane screen, it has 2 – the glass and the silver, both of which are a reflecting unto themselves containing the separate slivers that come together to form the final image. This interview has those two pieces conversing with each other – to either your amusement or your derision, see it as you will.

Hereafter the interviewer = IW(glass-the paler part of the image), interviewee =IE(silver, the stronger part of the image).

IW: Why are you doing this interview?

IE: I think I have something of a split personality and I want to get my side of the story out here.

IW: Don’t you think it’s a tad childish?

IE: Maybe, but then, I believe in the eternal quote “Growing old is mandatory but growing up isn’t”; so what if it’s childish?

IW: So what do you want to talk about?

IE: Why you’re interviewing me.

IW:Fine. Why am I interviewing you?

IE:You see I believe that everyone deserves to have a simple question and answer session on a regular basis with their subconscious, just to ascertain that they are whoever they think they are. Who do you think you are?

IW:I am you. So YOU tell ME.

IE: Well, I believe a lot of things about myself but more than anything else I believe in being principled. It is the key to being SOMEONE, by choosing to live by certain principles you are choosing to distinguish yourself from the mob that seeks to overwhelm every single one of us. More importantly, you have to stay true to them uncompromisingly only then will you be seen as a propagator of what you stand for, you will become a symbol for it-just as Batman did or as Rorschach did in Watchmen.

IW: Wouldn’t that mean, albeit in an abstract way, that you are styling yourself on the superhero Rorschach(or anyone else), which in turn sounds just like superhero worship to me.

IE: Like most people you are focusing only on the ending part of what I said, Rorschach agreed was uncompromising, but his principles aren’t what yours or mine would be. What your principles are defines you, you don’t have to make them as superheroes do, and being uncompromising about right and wrong defined Rorschach, that in itself was his principle. Copying someone else’s principles is not wrong as long as you have just as strong a belief or more in them as the person who came up with them did.

IW: You seem good at giving answers to yourself, have you done it before?

IE: Yes and no. I have of course done something on these lines  before, but never have I given a descriptive argument for every question that has been thus asked, also I usually convey things with a plethora of images and feelings, making it easier for me to interpret whatever it may be.

IW:How would you like to conclude the interview?

IE: Fear has now become a staple diet of the masses, we consume it through words, pictures and actions-especially from ourselves. That fear tends to clog everyone’s pipes-considering everyone’s life as a pipe(thinking of the old Windows screensaver?), so if you really want to flow, flow with the time, the moment and with yourself, you have to unclog the pipe, you have to remove that fear.

Leave a Reply

