How to be happy ?


This is not a self-help article , this is a very selfish , self retrospective , externally critical article ,which could very easily offend you considerably. If , like me , you have a weak psyche , I advise against proceeding further . For the , uh , strong hearted ( whatever that means, because how well your heart pumps blood hardly affects how well you can handle what I’m going to write) we shall forge ahead on a path never before established. I’m not sure what has altered my consciousness the most , the downright destruction of my academic standing or all the hanging around people who laugh at ‘he CAME’ jokes. Its a surprise to me,myself, that a weak thing like me , filled with squishy things manages to get up every morning , and breaks out into a smile when it sees the sun.

First of all , I’m homesick . I miss you Bangalore , all your restaurants and everything else.I’d never ever thought I’d be forced to admit that to myself , albeit everyone else. Food somehow tops my list of things I really really want more of . I don’t mean some forgettable food I gulp down to survive, I mean , food that makes me feel like I’m on cloud 9 , like there’s nothing better , an indescribable high. I need to go to more restaurants . I want to experience a place which gives me food that’s a feast for all the senses , flavourful and aromatic , and looking better than the most beautiful girl(kind of shows you where I rate what on my list of important things ) .

And then its over. And you wonder the sensibility in buying another 1000 rupee dish . Now this is what I don’t want , I don’t want to be sensible. With a world filled with critics and idiots (hard to differentiate) it’s very tough to explain you don’t want to be sensible . Nature is a mean mean female , forcing you to behave however it seems right to her , without letting you really design things in your own fashion . It’s impossible to break out from under her clutches, its like denying your very humanity , something I would love to do . As I already mentioned, I am NOT ‘gaga’ about humanity and the way things work in society.

‘A life unexamined is a life not worth living’- Socrates . So examine and re-examine until you are satisfied with how things stand , YOU, and not someone else should be satisfied.

My last and final way to be happy is the most (well to my friends it would seems so at least) senseless. I want to study . Its the simplest way I’ll feel more happy , nothing can possibly raise my spirit  the way knowing more can make me feel . That was why my 12th was so jubilant despite the obvious consequences from all the exams .
I sincerely hope all this works . No one’s saying that you cant screw up your life, you have the sole right to do so , but remember that when you retrospect after 20 years , you might not feel so satisfied. So do what feels good now , and what WILL , even after 20 years .

One thought on “How to be happy ?

  1. In my first year, I went along an almost identical thought process. It’s not even funny how similar this is. Except, I didn’t quite miss home, my area of that muggy dissatisfaction was a little different.

    However, let me tell you this much, good man. Do what feels good now. Period. There is absolutely no way of knowing what WILL feel good 20 years later. You ARE gonna look back at this moment, 20 years later, and marvel on how stupid you were. Hell, you’ll do it 4 years later too 🙂

    One thing’s for sure. A life unexamined is indeed worthless. Examining your life might be one of the more painful things on a short term scale, but it always pays off in the big picture.

    And finally, food over women, any given day! 😀

    Oh also, you write good. Keep it going!

Leave a Reply

